Usability of CMRosIF-1.0.0 package with CarMaker/HIL + VIL add-on

Hi all,
I’m using the CMRosIF-1.0.0 package to use CarMaker/‘Office’ 11.0 with ROS 2. Thanks for providing such a useful package. Is it possible to use this package with CarMaker/‘HIL + VIL add-on’ 11.0, as well?

Hello,

The interface works with CarMaker for Office at the moment. Officially, it has not been tested for HiL, unofficially, it may work.

The ViL addon on its own should not interfere with the CMRosIF package, and they can work together. The only issue is that the ViL addon for Office is not widely distributed for Linux to my knowledge.

When it comes to HiL, usually the peak interest is from IPG customers, e.g. suppliers and OEMs. If you have a specific project in mind and are interested in official IPG support, it might be a good idea to reach out through your company.

Regards,
Bogomil

Dear Bogomil,
Thank you for expressing interest in my work. As a university professor, I recently purchased CarMaker/Office, HIL + VIL add-on to perform VIL, as demonstrated in https://youtu.be/CukilQRmyuA. Currently, everything is in place, except for an interface between sensor models, such as LiDAR RSI, and AD systems.
Martin Herrmann from IPG Automotive GmbH has mentioned three possible options for exporting sensor data generated in CarMaker. You may refer to https://ipg-automotive.com/fileadmin/data/knowhow/success_stories/interviews/article/Interview_Testing_and_Validation_EN.pdf, if you are interested. At the moment, I am trying the third option that uses ROS 2. I have found that the CMRosIF-1.0.0 package works well with CarMaker/Office, but I am unsure if it is also suitable for CarMaker/HIL + VIL add-on.